Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Research Group Gumbsch - Inst. for Appl. Materials - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS)

In research as well as in teaching and transfer the group of Prof. Peter Gumbsch at the Institute for Applied Materials - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) focuses on the mechanical, tribological and structural properties of materials and the evaluation of component reliability.

We preferably work with methods of modeling and numerical simulation, combining atomistic methods to describe materials and their defects with microstructural modeling and continuum mechanical analysis. In the field of tribology, we carry out fundamental and applied research across all length scales. Here we combine experimental investigations with high-resolution electron microscopy and analysis in order to elucidate the basic mechanisms in the frictional contact.

We conduct our research in close collaboration with national and international partners and in a very close connection to the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials, IWM with whom we jointly established the MicroTribology Center, µTC .

IAM-CMS currently hosts two independent junior research groups led by Christian Greiner and Katrin Schulz.

Head Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Gumbsch
MZE Address

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Material Research Center for Energy Systems (MZE)
Strasse am Forum 7, Bldg. 30.48
76131 Karlsruhe
​Germany

MZE Rooms 1. Floor and Ground Floor
Phone +49 721 / 608-48587
Fax +49 721 / 608-42590
Email peter.gumbsch∂kit.edu
Homepage https://www.iam.kit.edu/cms/english

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Arbeitsgruppe Gumbsch - Inst. für Angew. Mater. - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS)

Die Arbeitsgrupp von Prof. Peter Gumbsch am Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) befasst sich in Forschung, Lehre und Transfer mit den mechanischen, tribologischen und strukturellen Eigenschaften von Werkstoffen und der Bauteilbewertung.

Wir arbeiten bevorzugt mit Methoden der Modellbildung und der numerischen Simulation und verbinden dabei atomistische Betrachtungen von Werkstoffen und deren Defekten mit mikrostruktureller Modellierung und kontinuumsmechanischer Analyse. Im Bereich der Tribologie führen wir skalenübergreifend sowohl grundlagen- als auch anwendungsorientierte Forschungsarbeiten durch. Dabei kombinieren wir experimentelle Untersuchungen mit hochauflösender Elektronenmikroskopie und Analytik, um die grundlegenden Mechanismen im Reibkontakt aufzuklären.

Wir forschen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen deutschen und internationalen Partnern und in enger Wechselwirkung mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für Werkstoffmechanik (IWM), mit dem wir gemeinsam das MikroTribologie Centrum µTC betreiben.

Das IAM-CMS beheimatet aktuell zwei unabhängige Nachwuchsgruppen, die von Christian Greiner und Katrin Schulz geleitet werden.

Leitung Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Gumbsch
Adresse MZE

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Materialwissenschaftliches Zentrum für Energiesysteme (MZE)
Straße am Forum 7, Geb. 30.48
76131 Karlsruhe

Räume im MZE 1. OG und EG
Telefon +49 721 / 608-44363
Fax +49 721 / 608-44364
Email peter.gumbsch∂kit.edu
Homepage https://www.iam.kit.edu/cms